2017/Staff

From CS61
Jump to: navigation, search

Computer Science 61 and E61
Systems Programming and Machine Organization
Fall 2017

Course Staff

  • Eddie Kohler (kohler@seas.harvard.edu) HEAD DORK
  • Michael Han (hanx@g.harvard.edu) HEAD TF
  • Michael Colavita (mcolavita@college.harvard.edu)
  • Dan Fu (dfu@college.harvard.edu)
  • Jingmei Hu (jingmei_hu@g.harvard.edu)
  • David Hughes (davidralphhughes@college.harvard.edu)
  • Yuna Joung (joung@college.harvard.edu)
  • Suriya Kandaswamy (skandaswamy@college.harvard.edu)
  • Kevin Loughlin (kevinloughlin@college.harvard.edu)
  • Abby Lyons (abigaillyons@college.harvard.edu)
  • William Qian (wqian@g.harvard.edu)
  • Franco Solleza (solleza.f@gmail.com)
  • Timothy Tamm (tamm@college.harvard.edu)
  • Garrett Tanzer (gtanzer@college.harvard.edu)
  • Emma Weil (eweil@college.harvard.edu)
  • Carlos Mendizabal (carlosmendizabal@college.harvard.edu)

Calendar

Sections

Extension students wishing to attend section in person are welcome at any section not marked "College students only."

Time (EST) Location TFs Notes
Mondays, 4:00-5:30pm CruftLab 309 Dan and Michael C.
Mondays, 7:00-8:30pm 60 Oxford Street 330 (9/11), Pierce 100F (Starting 9/18) Abby and Tim
Tuesdays, 4:00-5:30pm Northwest B108 Emma and Michael H.
Wednesdays, 4:00-5:30pm Northwest B103 Suriya and Yuna
Wednesdays, 7:40-9:10pm 53 Church Street, room L01 Garrett and Franco Extension
Fridays, 10:00-11:30pm Sever Hall 214 Crystal and William
Sundays, 7:00-8:30pm Maxwell Dworkin G125 David and Kevin

Office hours

We will have regular weekly office hours, starting Tuesday, 9/6. We will occasionally schedule additional office hours.

Eddie has office hours in MD 327, Wednesday 10am-12pm. I’m also often in my office, and if the door is open and I’m available, happy to meet. On problem set due dates I’ll hold additional OH.

Online extension OH: Call cs61staff on Skype.

Time (EST) Location TFs Notes
Mondays, 3:00-5:00pm Maxwell Dworkin 1st Floor Lounge Crystal and Michael H.
Mondays, 8:00-10:00pm Maxwell Dworkin 2nd Floor Lounge Michael C. and Garett
Tuesdays, 5:00-7:00pm Maxwell Dworkin 2nd Floor Lounge William and David
Tuesdays, 6:30-8:30pm Skype Carlos Extension Students
Thursdays, 5:30-7:30pm Currier Dining Hall Abby and Tim
Fridays, 10:00am-12:00pm Lev Dining Hall Suriya
Fridays, 3:00-5:00pm Maxwell Dworkin 2nd Floor Lounge Dan and Kevin
Saturdays, 12:00-2:00pm Skype Franco Extension Students
Sundays, 3:00-5:00pm Maxwell Dworkin 1st Floor Lounge Emma and Yuna
Sundays, 7:30-9:30pm Skype Carlos Extension Students

Contacting us

Use Piazza, a question and answer site for courses. You’ve probably seen it before in other courses. By posting your questions to Piazza, you’ll not only get faster responses from the course staff, but you’ll also be able to get help from other students. We’ll consider your interactions on Piazza as course participation, so good discussions may improve your grade!

To sign up for CS 61 Piazza, visit piazza.com/harvard/fall2017/cs61.

Of course, while you are welcome to discuss general tips and strategies on Piazza and help each other with technical problems, you may not share answers or code. We also encourage you to use Piazza judiciously. Many, if not most, of you are old enough to vote or to drive several-ton death machines on our nation’s roads. That means you’re also old enough to try to solve problems yourselves (you’ll learn more that way).

Administrative questions, problems with specific lines of code, and anything else too sensitive to post publicly should be marked private (for instructors to see only).

You may send private questions to the staff email list, cs61-staff@seas.harvard.edu. Please use this list for administrative questions.

While we will endeavor to answer emails and posted questions in a timely fashion, we make no guarantees! Plan on responses taking up to 48 hours. This means that you should not expect immediate answers to emails sent or questions posted the night before homework is due!