2014/Staff

From CS61
Jump to: navigation, search
Computer Science 61 and E61
Systems Programming and Machine Organization

Course Staff

  • Aftab Chitalwala (aftabchitalwala@college.harvard.edu)
  • Alisa Nguyen (alisanguyen@college.harvard.edu)
  • Balaji Pandian (balajipandian@college.harvard.edu)
  • Eddie Kohler (Lecturer) (Office MD 327, email kohler@seas.harvard.edu, OH MW mornings)
  • Iva Milo (ivamilo@college.harvard.edu)
  • Marco Gentili (mgentili@college.harvard.edu)
  • Marcus Schorow (mschorow@college.harvard.edu)
  • Nathaniel Herman (nherman@college.harvard.edu)
  • Oreoluwa Babarinsa (obabarinsa@college.harvard.edu)
  • Nikhil Benesch (benesch@college.harvard.edu)
  • Todd Lubin (tlubin@college.harvard.edu)
  • Zachary Fogelson (zacharyfogelson@college.harvard.edu)

Sections

Time Location TF
Monday, 7-8:30pm MD 221 Nate Herman & Todd Lubin
Tuesday, 4-5:30pm Northwest B166 Marco Gentili & Alisa Nguyen
Wednesday, 7:40-9pm Sever 105 Marcus Schorow & Aftab Chitalwala
Thursday, 4-5:30pm MD G125 Iva Milo & Balaji Pandian
Thursday, 7:40-9:10pm EST MD G125 Nikhil Benesch & Zachary Fogelson (extension)
Friday, 3-5pm MD 1st Floor Lounge Ore Babarinsa (office hours)

Nikhil & Zach’s section is the official extension section. It will be recorded, and recordings will be made available.

Contacting us

Use Piazza, a question and answer site for courses. You’ve probably seen it before in other courses. By posting your questions to Piazza, you’ll not only get faster responses from the course staff, but you’ll also be able to get help from other students. We’ll consider your interactions on Piazza as course participation, so good discussions may improve your grade!

To sign up for CS 61 Piazza, visit piazza.com/harvard/fall2014/cs61.

Of course, while you are welcome to discuss general tips and strategies on Piazza and help each other with technical problems, you may not share answers or code. We also encourage you to use Piazza judiciously. Many, if not most, of you are old enough to vote or to drive several-ton death machines on our nation’s roads. That means you’re also old enough to try to solve problems yourselves (you’ll learn more that way).

Administrative questions, problems with specific lines of code, and anything else too sensitive to post publicly should be marked private (for instructors to see only).

You may send private questions to the staff email list, cs61-staff@seas.harvard.edu. Please use this list for administrative questions.

While we will endeavor to answer emails and posted questions in a timely fashion, we make no guarantees! Plan on responses taking up to 48 hours. This means that you should not expect immediate answers to emails sent or questions posted the night before homework is due!

Office hours

Unless noted otherwise, office hours will be held in the Science Center Computer Lab (Room B-14). We will have regular weekly office hours, starting Monday 9/8, with other hours in first week. We will occasionally schedule additional office hours. Check either this page or the announcements page for details.

Eddie Kohler says: I have office hours in MD 327. My office hours are MW morning, but I'm often in my office at other times. If the door is open and I'm available, I'm happy to meet. It may be better though to send email to set up a specific time.

Extension office hours by appointment

Extension students unable to attend the scheduled weekly office hours (Wednesdays, 7:40–9:40pm) should contact extension TFs Nikhil and Zach to set up a Skype appointment.

Send an email to both benesch@college.harvard.edu and zacharyfogelson@college.harvard.edu with your availability. We can usually schedule an appointment within 48 hours, excluding weekends.

Schedule